Skip to content

Stashbusting 2009

April 3, 2009

Since I neglected this blog for so long, I never updated on my stashbusting goals for this year.

For me, stashbusting ’08 was largely a failure. I blame it on Ravelry, and my introduction to new and wonderful patterns and yarns. But this year, I’m making a fresh commitment. With the help of the economic downturn and the very real risk of losing what little money I have, I’ve been pretty good at not buying anything this year. I’m also happy with how much I’ve been able to use up. The knitmeter on my sidebar has been great for keeping track of it all.

I’m still in Ravelry’s Stashbusting group, which is pretty helpful. And there this year, they have a whole bunch of personal challenges. Mostly “Knit one {insert item of choice here] a month” clubs. I miss the monthly challenges we used to have, but now there’s a million of these clubs. I decided to join the sock one though, because I do have many sock yarns, and have for the most part been pretty slow at actually making socks. So in addition to the goals of simply using up as much yarn as I can, I’ve decided to do one pair of socks a month as well.

So here are my accomplishments so far:
January

  • Katlyn Cardigan: 592 yds
  • Llama duck (llama yarn that is) crocheted sweater: 1080 yds
  • Crocheted squares for blanket: ~140 yds
  • Noro Socks: 362 yds

January Total: 2174 yds (1.24 miles)

February

  • Blanket as a Valentine’s Day present for Scott: 1265 yds
  • Green bulky hat: 60 yds
  • Purple Purse: 414 yds
  • Jaywalker Socks: 347 yds
  • Gave away: 480 yds

February Total: 2566 yds (1.46 miles)

March

  • Orange cardigan that isn’t quite finished yet: 869yds
  • Bellatrix Socks: 390 yds

March Total: 1199 yds (.59 miles)

So my total so far this year is: 6038 yds (3.43 miles)

Not bad! Averaging over a mile a month. I’m not sure how much I’ll get done this month since the end of the month coincides with the end of the semester and there is much to be done before then. But at least I know I had a good start. And as far as I can tell, I’ll be unemployed over the summer. The upside of that is more yarn time!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

