Skip to content

Ambitions

May 20, 2009

This may not appear craft-related at first, but I assure you, it is.

I absolutely loved the new Star Trek movie. So much so that I actually saw it twice, including once in IMAX. I was really looking forward to seeing Zachary Quinto as Spock and wasn’t disappointed, but the entire cast was great. And though I’ve been a fan of Shatner for his non-acting work I really had no expectations about Kirk, but I thought Chris Pine was great in the role, especially the second time I saw it. (Not that his performance changed obviously, I just noticed it more the second time.)

Which leads me to the crafty part of this. A long time ago, I knitted this bag of Timothy Hutton as Archie Goodwin from the Nero Wolfe series. (That’s quite a mouthful.) Though I don’t carry it that often, I’ve gotten lots of compliments on it both in person and on Ravelry, where it’s been viewed upwards of 500 times and 45 people have it listed as a favorite. (Disclaimer: I can’t take all of the credit for the design, as it’s technically the “Poster Boy” pattern from Stitch ‘N Bitch Nation. I just didn’t use the provided chart but instead used the provided instructions for using your own image.

Anyway, after seeing the movie the first time, I thought it would be awesome to use this promotional poster of Quinto as Spock to make a bag out of it in the same way (and even probably in the same color as the other bag, since Spock wears blue). And rather than put Spock on both sides, I could put the Star Fleet logo on one side. But now I think it would be cool to do Kirk as well. So now I’m torn, and I have several options.

1. Do 2 bags. A blue Spock one and a yellow Kirk one.
2. Choose a neutral color, and do one on each side.
3. Rather than knit in the round like you’re supposed to, do it flat. Make a yellow Kirk, a blue Spock, and sew the two sides together.
4. Only make one.
5. Get a job. (Oh wait, tried that! No one will hire me)
6. Work on my damn thesis already.

I’m leaning towards option 1, because that way I could get both bags to look the way I want, even though that’s the most work. I’m not sure if option 3 would look funny or not. It could look cool, or it could look like a crayon box exploded. I mean, I guess the backgrounds are black for both since the pictures are so dark, so it probably wouldn’t scream color quite like my Archie bag does.

Really I just want to play with colorwork, so I’m not opposed to doing more work. I just want it to look cool.

Anyway, I’m in need of some advice. Anyone have any thoughts?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

